Rick Barnes Honored as John Wooden "Legends of Coaching" Recipient

October 9th, 2008


LOS ANGELES, Calif. - University of Texas head men's basketball coach Rick Barnes will receive the John R. Wooden Award's "Legends of Coaching" honor this year, Award Chairman Duke Llewellyn announced Wednesday. Barnes will be honored along with the 2009 Men's and Women's Wooden Award winners and the Wooden Award All-American teams at the Los Angeles Athletic Club in April of 2009.


2008-09 All-American Projection: Post-Decision Update

June 19th, 2008

A few days after the 2008 NCAA Championship game, I made an early projection of the 08-09 All-Americans to go along with Top 50 and All-Freshman projections. Now that players have officially entered or withdrawn from the Draft, we have a much better sense of how next year's landscape will look:
First Team
G - Brandon Jennings - Arizona
G - Stephen Curry - Davidson
F - Kyle Singler - Duke**
F - Luke Harangody - Notre Dame
F - Tyler Hansbrough - North Carolina

Early 2008-09 All-Freshman Projections

April 25th, 2008

Following my  2009 Field of 65 & Projected All-Americans, here is an early look at the 2008-09 All-Freshman Team.

First Team
G - Jrue Holiday - UCLA
G - Brandon Jennings - Arizona
G - Tyreke Evans - Memphis
F - Greg Monroe - Georgetown
F - Samardo Samuels - Louisville

Second Team
G - Demar DeRozan - USC

2008 CHN All-Final Four & MOP

April 8th, 2008


After a National Championship game for the ages, and a Final Four utterly dominated by Kansas & Memphis, it is no shock that CHN’s All-Final Four team is all Jayhawks and Tigers.

2008 Program & Conference of the Year

April 3rd, 2008
Atlantic 10


After a lengthy run of individual awards, we finally reach CHN's program and conference awards. As always, CHN writers voted for the best of the best: Program of the Year: Drake

DJ Augustin Wins Bob Cousy Award

April 3rd, 2008

SPRINGFIELD, Mass. — University of Texas sophomore guard D.J. Augustin has been named the winner of the 2008 Bob Cousy Award presented by The Hartford, an honor presented annually to the nation’s top collegiate point guard. The Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame in conjunction with The Hartford Financial Services Group, Inc., made the announcement on Thursday. Mr. Cousy will present Augustin with the award during a press conference at the Marriott River Walk hotel in San Antonio on Monday, April 7 at 11 a.m. (central).

» Read More » Tags

2008 Coach of the Year Awards

April 1st, 2008
Davidson Coach of the Year: Keno Davis (Drake)


2008 AP All-American Team

March 31st, 2008

Associated Press All-American Team

G: DJ Augustin (Texas)
G: Chris Douglas-Roberts (Memphis)
F: Michael Beasley (Kansas State)
F: Tyler Hansbrough (UNC)
C: Kevin Love (UCLA)

G: Stephen Curry (Davidson)
G: Shan Foster (Vanderbilt)
F: Luke Harangody (Notre Dame)
F: DJ White (Memphis)
C: Roy Hibbert (Georgetown)

G: Darren Collison (UCLA)
G: Chris Lofton (Tennessee)
G: Eric Gordon (Indiana)
G: Derrick Rose (Memphis)
C: Brook Lopez (Stanford)

» Read More » Tags

2008 Mid-Major All-Freshman Team

March 30th, 2008

Awards Week continues on CHN.. Mid-Major Player of the Year: Patrick Mills (Saint Mary’s) Mid-Major All-Freshman Team All-Elite Eight Team & MOP

March 30th, 2008

All-Elite Eight & MOP
Jeff Fox

Well Davidson, good night and thanks for the memories. However, there is no doubt that the four best teams in college basketball are still remaining. After the dust had settled, here is how CHN’s All-Elite Eight squad played out. Elite Eight MOP: Derrick Rose, Memphis
21 points, nine assists, six boards