All-Big East & Big East All-Rookie Teams

March 8th, 2009
Big EastPROVIDENCE, R.I. - Notre Dame forward Luke Harangody and Pittsburgh forward Sam Young are repeat selections on the 2008-09 All-BIG EAST First Team, the league announced. The conference's head coaches choose the all-conference teams. The coaches are not permitted to vote for their own players. This year, the league returned to five-player teams after having 10-player teams for the past three seasons.

Six players were named to the All-BIG EAST First Team. The BIG EAST Player of the Year will come from that list.

SoCo Awards: Curry Player of the Year & More

March 5th, 2009
2008-09 All-Conference
Kellen Brand, Appalachian State
Stephen Curry, Davidson
Noah Dahlman, Wofford
Nicchaeus Doaks, Chattanooga
Andrew Goudelock, College of Charleston
Andrew Lovedale, Davidson
Stephen McDowell, Chattanooga
Harouna Mutombo, Western Carolina
Demetrius Nelson, The Citadel
Cameron Wells, The Citadel

All-Freshman Team
John Brown, The Citadel
Ben Drayton III, Georgia Southern
Damian Eargle, UNC Greensboro

WCC All-Conference Team: Bryant is POY

March 4th, 2009

SAN BRUNO, Calif. -- Santa Clara senior center John Bryant turned in one of the most dominating seasons in the last 30 years in WCC history and was rewarded on Monday by being named the Conference Player of the Year in a vote by the league's head coaches. Saint Mary's senior forward Diamon Simpson joined Bryant among the yearly conference award recipients, taking home his second consecutive Defensive Player of the Year honor.

Jermaine Taylor: High-Major Player of the Week

March 3rd, 2009
Jermaine Taylor - UCF
High-Major Player of the Week
Jermaine Taylor - UCF
2 Game Averages: 36.5 points, 5.5 rebounds, 1 assist, 2 steals, 1.5 blocks

Duquesne's Jackson is A-10 Player of the Week

March 1st, 2009
Atlantic 10

PITTSBURGH - Duquesne senior guard Aaron Jackson (Hartford, Conn./Worcester (Mass.) Academy) earned Atlantic 10 Player of the Week honors for a school record fourth time this season and freshman guard Eric Evans (Detroit, Mich./Northwestern) was named A-10 Rookie of the Week for the fourth time following wins at La Salle and at Massachusetts this past week.

Naismith Award: 30 Finalists Announced

February 24th, 2009
ATLANTA (Feb. 24, 2009) - No college program has ever won a Heisman Trophy and a Naismith Trophy in the same academic year, but Blake Griffin is looking to put Oklahoma in uncharted territory.

Mike Trimboli: America East Player of the Week

February 23rd, 2009
America EastBURLINGTON, Vt. - University of Vermont men's basketball senior » Read More » Tags

Big 12 Award Winners: Collins/Anderson/Warren

February 23rd, 2009
Big 12

IRVING, Texas - Guards Sherron Collins (Kansas), James Anderson (Oklahoma State) and Willie Warren (Oklahoma) have been chosen as the latest Phillips 66 Big 12 Players and Rookie of the Week for Feb. 16 - 22 in voting by a panel of media covering the conference. It is the second player accolade this year for both Collins and Anderson. Warren has been the top rookie seven times in 2008-09.



Sherron Collins, Kansas, G, Jr., 5-11, 200, Chicago, Ill./Crane Player of the Week: DeJuan Blair

February 22nd, 2009
DeJuan Blair - Pittsburgh Player of the Week: DeJuan Blair, Pittsburgh