Big 12 Preseason All-Conference Team

October 14th, 2008
HTML clipboard

DALLAS — University of Texas senior guard A.J. Abrams and junior swingman Damion James have been named to the five-person Preseason All-Big 12 team, the conference office announced Tuesday. UT was the only school to have a pair of selections on the preseason team.

Oklahoma sophomore Blake Griffin was tabbed the Preseason Player of the Year. Kansas junior guard was chosen Newcomer of the Year, while Oklahoma guard Willie Warren garnered Preseason Freshman of the Year accolades. Players honored in preseason voting were selected by the league’s head coaches. The coaches were not permitted to vote for their own student-athletes.

Joining Abrams and James on the Preseason All-Big 12 team were Griffin, Curtis Jerrells (Baylor) and Sherron Collins (Kansas).


2008-09 Preseason All-Big 12 Team

Curtis Jerrells, Baylor; Sherron Collins, Kansas; Blake Griffin, Oklahoma; A.J. Abrams, Texas; Damion James, Texas

Honorable Mention Selections

DeMarre Carroll, Missouri; Leo Lyons, Missouri; James Anderson, Oklahoma State; Byron Eaton, Oklahoma State; Connor Atchley, Texas; Josh Carter, Texas A&M; Bryan Davis, Texas A&M

Preseason Player of the Year

Blake Griffin, Oklahoma

Preseason Newcomer of the Year

Mario Little, Kansas

Preseason Freshman of the Year

Willie Warren, Oklahoma