College Football: 2008 Big Ten Preview: Part Two

September 5th, 2008
HTML clipboard



Big Ten: Standings & Player Awards


Players of the Year: RB Chris Wells (Ohio State) and LB James Laurinaitis (Ohio State)


Coach of the Year: Bret Bielema (Wisconsin)


Newcomers of the Year: QB Terrelle Pryor (Ohio State) and LB Johnny Adams (Michigan State)


Three Best Non-Conference Games

1.      Ohio State @ USC (September 13th): Buckeyes head west for a game that will set the tone for this season.

2.      Illinois @ Missouri (August 30th): Illinois lost the “Braggin’ Rights” but ended up with the BCS berth; the Tigers could be a national title contender.

3.      Wisconsin @ Fresno State (September 13th): The Badgers head west to take on the Bulldogs, who won’t be intimidated by the Big Ten label.


Conference Game of the Year

            Ohio State @ Wisconsin (October 4th): OSU’s trip to Illinois takes place in mid-November, but this one will go a long way in determining the way in which the title race plays out. If the Badgers can pull this one out, the Big Ten race could be closer than anticipated.


How they’ll finish

1.      Ohio State

2.      Wisconsin

3.      Illinois

4.      Michigan State

5.      Penn State

6.      Michigan

7.      Purdue

8.      Indiana

9.      Iowa

10.  Northwestern

11.  Minnesota