2007 Collegehoops.net Coach & Program Awards

April 3rd, 2007

Nat'l Coach of the Year: Tony Bennett


In his first season as Washington State head coach, the Cougars improved from 11 wins to 26 and advanced to the NCAA Tournament for the first time since 1994.

High-Major Coach of the Year: Todd Lickliter


In his sixth year at Butler, Lickliter’s Bulldogs exceeded all expectations by winning 29 games and advanced to the NCAA Tournament’s Sweet Sixteen.

Mid-Major Coach of the Year: Greg Marshall


After winning 29 games, Marshall’s Winthrop Eagles upset ranked Notre Dame in the first round of the NCAA Tournament.

Conference of the Year: Pac-10


After a so-called down year, the Pac-10 bounced back with the nation’s 3rd best RPI, six team in the NCAA Tournament, and was the only league to place two team’s in the tournament’s Elite Eight (UCLA and Oregon).


Program of the Year: Ohio State


Even though they fell short in the National Championship game, Thad Matta's 35-win Buckeyes were the country's most talked about team thanks to the recruitment of Greg Oden and the rest of a talented freshmen class. Ohio State dominated the Big Ten with a 15-1 record and tournament title, and things are looking good for the future.


High-Major Program of the Year: Southern Illinois


Southern Illinois finished a highly impressive season with 29 wins overall and a close Sweet Sixteen loss to #1 seed Kansas.  The Salukis won the Missouri Valley Conference with a 15-3 record, and ultimately ended up with the nation’s 7th best RPI. Perhaps more importantly, following the season, head coach Chris Lowery was signed to a 7-year contract extension.


- Collegehoops.net is the web’s largest independent college basketball site. CHN’s official preview of the 2007-08 season will begin following the NBA Draft.


Other Awards:

CHN All-American Team

CHN Mid & High-Major All-Americans

CHN All-Freshman Team

CHN All-Improved Team