Wooden Award - Top 30 Finalists

January 30th, 2007
» Tags

Composed of the top 30 players who will compete for this season's player of the year award, the Wooden Mid-season All-American list is based on individual player performance and team records during the first half of the season. Twelve seniors, ten juniors, five sophomores and three freshmen were selected to the mid-season list.

"Perhaps more than any other year, the Mid-season Selection Committee had an incredibly difficult task narrowing the list to 30 players," said Duke Llewellyn, Wooden Award chairman. "Ten players that were not on the pre-season list, made the mid-season list; an incredible number that shows players across the nation stepped up and made a case for themselves. We look forward to watching this group of amazing athletes as we determine the top candidates for the Wooden Award All-American Team."

Players who do not make the Mid-season list are still eligible for the national ballot, which will be selected in March and will consist of approximately 20 players who have proven to their universities that they are also making progress toward graduation and maintaining a cumulative 2.0 GPA. Over 1000 voters, comprised of sports media members and college basketball experts across the nation, will then cast their votes to determine both the 10-member All-American Team and player of the year recipient.

Wooden Award Midseason All-American Team - Top 30 Candidates
(Players listed alphabetically)

Aaron Afflalo, Jr., G, UCLA
Morris Almond, Sr., G, Rice
Mario Boggan, Sr., F/C, Oklahoma State
Corey Brewer, Jr., F, Florida
Aaron Brooks, Sr., G, Oregon
Glen Davis*, Jr., F, LSU
Jared Dudley, Sr., F, Boston College
Kevin Durant, Fr., G/F, Texas
Nick Fazekas, Sr., F, Nevada
A.J. Graves, Jr., G, Butler
Aaron Gray, Sr., C, Pittsburgh
Taurean Green, Jr., G, Florida
Tyler Hansbrough, So., F, North Carolina
Jarrius Jackson, Sr., G, Texas Tech
Dominic James, So., G, Marquette
Acie Law, Sr., G, Texas A&M
Chris Lofton, Jr., G, Tennessee
Josh McRoberts, So., F, Duke
Randolph Morris, Jr., C, Kentucky
Drew Neitzel, G, Michigan State
Demetris Nichols, Sr., F, Syracuse
Joakim Noah, Jr., F/C, Florida
Greg Oden, Fr., C, Ohio State
Brandon Rush, So., G, Kansas
Sean Singletary, Jr., G, Virginia
Curtis Sumpter, Sr., F, Villanova
Al Thornton, Sr., F, Florida State
Alando Tucker, Sr., F, Wisconsin
Marcus Williams, So., F, Arizona
Brandan Wright, Fr., F, North Carolina