Met Basketball Writers Association Honors Announced

April 21st, 2010

The Met Basketball Writers Association announced their annual honors on Wednesday, naming Hofstra junior guard Charles Jenkins the winner of the Haggerty Award (Player of the Year). Winning the award for the second consecutive year, Jenkins joins the following list of players to have won the Haggerty two or more times in their collegiate careers:

Dick McGuire, St. John's (1944, 1949)
Sid Tannenbaum, NYU (1946-47)
Ed Conlin, Fordham (1954-55)
Jim McMillan, Columbia (1968, 1969, 1970)
Phil Sellers, Rutgers (1975-76)
Chris Mullin, St. John's (1983, 1984, 1985)
Malik Sealy, St. John's (1991-92)
Luis Flores, Manhattan (2003-04) 

The other individual winners were Stony Brook's Steve Pikiell (Peter A. Carlesimo Coach of the Year) and Fordham freshman forward Chris Gaston (Rookie of the Year). The three All-Met teams are (seniors in bold; NBA Draft early entrants in italics): 

First Team
G Charles Jenkins (Hofstra)
G Jeremy Hazell (Seton Hall)
G/F D.J. Kennedy (St. John's)
G Ryan Thompson (Rider)
G Jaytornah Wisseh (LIU)
G Muhammad El-Amin (Stony Brook)

Second Team
C Hamady Ndiaye (Rutgers)
G Mike Rosario (Rutgers); transferring to Florida
F Anthony Johnson (Fairfield)
F Herb Pope (Seton Hall)
G Scott Machado (Iona)
F Chris Gaston (Fordham)

Third Team
G Rico Pickett (Manhattan)
G Derek Needham (Fairfield)
G Sean Baptiste (FDU)
G Norwua Agho (Columbia)
G Wesley Jenkins (Saint Peter's)
F Travis Taylor (Monmouth)

Thoughts: No real complaints. You can definitely make a case for Herb Pope being on the First Team. But I agree with the guys over at Gonzo Ball in the idea that Pope may have been penalized for his behavior in games at St. John's (backhanded slap to Malik Boothe's groin that was missed by officials) and against Texas Tech in the NIT (two punches to the groin of an opposing player that resulted in his ejection). Also, I'd swap Rosario with Needham; you could even swap the MAAC Rookie of the Year with Scott Machado but I would leave Scott due to his role in the team's overall success. And given how many of the players named All-Met are due to return next year should be a pretty good season. 

Coaching Carousel