NEC End of Season Honors Announced

March 2nd, 2010

The Northeast Conference announced its all-conference teams and major individual honors on Tuesday morning. The honorees are:

Jim Phelan Coach of the Year: Tom Moore (Quinnipiac)

Player of the Year: F Justin Rutty (Quinnipiac)

Rookie of the Year: G Karon Abraham (Robert Morris)

Defensive Player of the Year: G Mezie Newigwe (Robert Morris)

Most Improved Player: C Liam Potter (Sacred Heart)

All-Rookie Team

G Karon Abraham (Robert Morris)
F Will Felder (Saint Francis-PA)
F Vladyslav Kondratyev (Bryant)
F Kenny Onyechi (LIU)
F Ed Waite (Monmouth)

All-NEC Teams

First Team

G James Feldeine (Quinnipiac)
G Jeremy Goode (Mount St. Mary's)
F Justin Rutty (Quinnipiac)
F Devin Sweetney (Saint Francis-PA)
G Jaytornah Wisseh (LIU) 

Second Team

G Sean Baptiste (FDU)
G Akeem Bennett (St. Francis-NY)
G Corey Hassan (Sacred Heart)
F Rob Robinson (Robert Morris)
F Travis Taylor (Monmouth) 

The conference tournament begins on Thursday with the four quarterfinals all taking place at the home of the higher seed.