Poll: What team will win the Horizon League regular season title?

February 9th, 2009

The Horizon League title has come down to a two-team race between Butler and Wisconsin-Green Bay. Last week, the Phoenix beat first-place and nationally ranked Butler and third-place Wisconsin-Milwaukee, in what has to be considered one of the most successful weeks in the program’s history. Butler, meanwhile, bounced back from its first conference loss with two road victories over Detroit and Wright State. The Wright State blow out was especially noteworthy, because the Dawgs hadn’t won in Dayton since 2003.

Butler still stands in first place at 12-1, while Green Bay is one game back at 11-2. But if Green Bay and Butler end up in a tie, the Phoenix will most likely end up winning the tie breaker and host the HL tournament. Why? The tie breaker is based on who you beat. The team who beats the best teams gains the tie breaker. For example, if Butler loses to UWM (third in the HL) or Cleveland State (tied for fourth in the HL) and GB finishes the season undefeated, GB gets the #1 seed because UWM and Cleveland State both have better conference records than Loyola—the team that handed GB its first conference defeat.

The tie breaker is a bit perplexing because it doesn't punish teams for bad losses.

Here are the both teams remaining conference schedule:

Youngstown State
Cleveland State

Green Bay:
@ Youngstown State
@ Cleveland State
@ Detroit
@ Wright State