AE Semis and All-Big East Teams

March 7th, 2010
Steve Pikiell's Stony Brook Seawolves will look to move one step closer to the school's first-ever NCAA Tournament berth when they take on Boston University in the semis of the America East Tournament (5 PM, AmericaEast.TV). Stony Brook won both regular season meetings, most recently beating the Terriers 71-55 back on January 30th on Long Island. But Patrick Chambers' team is an entirely different outfit, having won five straight and seven of their last eight since that meeting. John Holland, Jake O'Brien and Corey Lowe all have the ability to go off from the field but Stony Brook has their fair share of weapons as well. Muhammad El-Amin and Bryan Dougher can score as well but this game cannot get into the high-70s if the Seawolves are to be "comfortable".

This is precisely the kind of game that a player like Chris Martin or Dallis Joyner makes the difference for Stony Brook. Stony Brook is the better rebounding team and also the more efficient offensive team due to their insistence on getting the ball inside the arc. BU will fire away from deep, scoring 35% of their points from behind the arc. If the Terriers are on they become even more dangerous. But if Stony Brook defends the three and wins the battle on the boards their chances of moving on to the title game increase exponentially. It's tough to beat a team three times in one season but not impossible, especially when you had the better campaign.

All-Big East teams announced

The Big East Conference announced its' all-conference teams on Sunday afternoon. Individual honors will be announced on Monday and Tuesday leading into the Big East Tournament. The teams are as follows:


Greg Monroe, Georgetown, C, So., 6-11, 247, New Orleans, La.

Luke Harangody, Notre Dame, F, Sr., 6-8, 255, Schererville, Ind.

Dominique Jones, USF, G, Jr., 6-4, 205, Lake Wales, Fla.

Wes Johnson, Syracuse, F, Jr., 6-7, 205, Corsicana, Texas

Scottie Reynolds, Villanova, G, Sr., 6-2, 190, Herndon, Va. *

Da'Sean Butler, West Virginia, F, Sr., 6-7, 225, Newark, N.J.


Austin Freeman, Georgetown, G, Jr., 6-4, 237, Mitchelville, Md.

Lazar Hayward, Marquette, F, Sr., 6-6, 225, Buffalo, N.Y.

Ashton Gibbs, Pittsburgh, G, So., 6-2, 190, Scotch Plains, N.J.

Jeremy Hazell, Seton Hall, G, Jr., 6-5, 185, Bronx, N.Y.

Andy Rautins, Syracuse, G, Sr., 6-5, 195, Jamesville, N.Y.


Jerome Dyson, Connecticut, G, Sr., 6-3, 190, Potomac, Md.

Kemba Walker, Connecticut, G, So., 6-1, 172, Bronx, N.Y.

Samardo Samuels, Louisville, F, So., 6-9, 260, Trelawny, Jamaica

Corey Fisher, Villanova, G, Jr., 6-1, 200, Bronx, N.Y.

Devin Ebanks, West Virginia, F, So., 6-9, 210, Long Island City, N.Y.


Jimmy Butler, Marquette, F, Jr., 6-6, 215, Tomball, Texas

Tim Abromaitis, Notre Dame, F, Jr., 6-8, 232, Unionville, Conn.

Jamine Peterson, Providence, F, So., 6-6, 230, Brooklyn, N.Y.


Lance Stephenson, Cincinnati, G, Fr., 6-5, 210, Brooklyn, N.Y. *

Alex Oriakhi, Connecticut, F/C, Fr., 6-9, 240, Lowell, Mass.

Vincent Council, Providence, G, Fr., 6-2, 180, Brooklyn, N.Y.

Dane Miller, Rutgers, F, Fr., 6-7, 210, Henrietta, N.Y. *

Brandon Triche, Syracuse, G, Fr., 6-4, 198, Jamesville, N.Y.

Maalik Wayns, Villanova, G, Fr., 6-1, 185, Philadelphia, Pa.

* unanimous selection