Wall Highlights Naismith Award Top 30 Finalists

February 24th, 2010
ATLANTA - The Atlanta Tipoff Club announced today the 30 student-athletes on its midseason list for the Naismith Trophy, the award given annually to the men's college basketball player of the year by the organization. South Carolina senior guard Devan Downey is one of the 30 candidates.

The top 30 midseason men's list was compiled by the Atlanta Tipoff Club's Board of Selectors, comprised of leading basketball journalists from around the country. The board based its criteria on player performances this season.

The Naismith Trophy presented by AT&T is the most prestigious national basketball award and is given annually to the men's college basketball player of the year. This year, the award will be presented at the NCAA Men's Final Four in Indianapolis.

"While several candidates have begin to separate themselves there are a number of whom still can win the esteemed Naismith Trophy," said Gary Stokan, Atlanta Tipoff Club president. "The exceptional talent level across the country has greatly elevated college basketball which makes for an outstanding finish to such a tremendous season."

Beginning March 22, AT&T wireless customers -- and sports fans on other wireless networks -- will be able to text their votes for the player of their choice. Fans will be eligible to cast their vote for the winner until 11:59 p.m. EDT on Saturday, April 3, 2010. AT&T is making the voting open to other wireless carriers, allowing even more fans to participate. Other wireless carriers must opt-in for their subscribers to participate. Standard messaging rates apply.

The midseason top-30 list is below:
Cole Aldrich, Kansas
Al-Farouq Aminu, Wake Forest
James Anderson, Oklahoma State
Luke Babbitt, Nevada
Trevor Booker, Clemson
Matt Bouldin, Gonzaga
Da'Sean Butler, West Virginia
Sherron Collins, Kansas
DeMarcus Cousins, Kentucky
Devan Downey, South Carolina
Jerome Dyson, UConn
Jimmer Fredette, BYU
Luke Harangody, Notre Dame
Gordon Hayward, Butler
Robbie Hummel, Purdue
Damion James, Texas
Wesley Johnson, Syracuse
Dominique Jones, South Florida
Sylven Landesberg, Virginia
Gani Lawal, Georgia Tech
Kalin Lucas, Michigan State
Greg Monroe, Georgetown
Jacob Pullen, Kansas State
Scottie Reynolds, Villanova
Omar Samhan, Saint Mary's
Jon Scheyer, Duke
Evan Turner, Ohio State
Jarvis Varnado, Mississippi State
Greivis Vasquez, Maryland
John Wall, Kentucky